#SpotlightThursday – Beyond the Void Darkly

About the Book

beyond-voidCan a man and woman separated by a century and a half be destined for each other?

In a love story that spans from 2031 to 1883, a man wrestles with questions of faith, love, and destiny.

Matthew Walton is a man on a mission. As a pharmaceutical scientist working on a top-secret time travel project, his one goal in life is to find a cure for his mother’s cancer. But when he sees a beautiful young woman in 19th century Kansas, the daughter of a doctor who may have stumbled across the cure, Matthew becomes enraptured and begins to wonder if there is such a thing as love at first sight.

But she can’t see him, hear him, or feel him. To her, he is a ghost.

As he gets to know her from reading her faded old diary and repeated trips through time, Matthew’s desire to make contact with Elizabeth grows in urgency, because he has seen her die.

And only he can save her.

Weaving in issues of philosophy, heartbreak and loss, Christian faith, and ultimately hope, Beyond the Void Darkly will remain with you long after you have finished the story. It will make you believe in love again.

About the author

Douglas Tanner is a writer and poet and the author of five books. He lives in North Carolina with his wife, son, two daughters, and a small Schnoodle named Snuffleupagus (Snuffy for short). He has been writing since fifth grade when he began sharing his stories with friends.tanner

Douglas studied at Ozark Christian College in Joplin, Missouri and Labette Community College in Parsons, Kansas, and has been a lead vocalist in rock bands; a radio DJ and news director; and a provisioning analyst and team leader with Sprint in Kansas City.

His latest novel, Beyond the Void Darkly, a Christian time travel romance, was released July 1, 2016.

Doug’s initial book, a creative non-fiction self-help manual entitled A Truly Successful Life: Ten Principles for a Life of Meaning and Purpose, was published in 2008. He followed up with a middle grade/young adult series of inspirational horror novels; Alec Kerley and the Terror of Bigfoot (2013), Alec Kerley and the Wrath of the Vampire (2013), and Alec Kerley and the Roar of the Dinosaur (2014). The upcoming fourth book in the series is Alec Kerley and the Revenge of the Werewolf.

Visit his website.

Follow him on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.